YourDspot.com redesign has LAUNCHED! Yah yah!

So we’re gluttons for punishment around here and in the midst of trying to open a new park and throw 3 events in 8 days, we decided it would be a GREAT time to launch the redesign of yourdspot.com.

Homepage view..

Please note this is a semi beta version.  The only sections functioning right now are the homepage and the “Places to Go” the rest will be complete by December 1 if not sooner.  If you get frustrated with the site (or us) because some of the items aren’t working, I apologize in advance, but please don’t take me off your Christmas card list.

We wanted to go ahead and get the site up in order to get some valuable feedback before it’s said and done.  So leave all of your comments here on this blog post and we’ll try to make your experience on our site even better. 

*see the post last week regarding details about the upcoming site features.

4 thoughts on “YourDspot.com redesign has LAUNCHED! Yah yah!

  1. huvanile

    I like it. Very standards compliant and sleek. The scroll bar within the “places to go” page is hard to find; I thought it was a bug till I searched around a bit. Maybe make it wider or a louder color? Also, the “user”, “password”, “login” and “search” buttons in the header are pretty small. Maybe make their font a bit bigger? Lastly, the skyline image on the homepage is grainy. Maybe there’s a more hi-res image somewhere out on the net? Other than this, I really like the new site. Good job.

  2. JP

    While the new website looks nice it has lost all functionality. I originally added youdspot.com to my favorites. I am looking to move to the area and loved the map of area to locate apartments, etc.. I was going to use this site as my primary website to search for places to live. It was the best I’d found on the internet. Why wouldn’t you launch the website with all functionality and then get feedback? I apologize if I sound rude, I guess I am just frustrated. I haven’t decided yet if you are staying on my Christmas card list. 🙂

    1. The site was planned to launch all together on December 1, we decided to launch parts of it early for two reasons.
      1. to get feedback on the site direction. I didn’t want to have all of the sections up without getting critical feedback to take into account for the rest of the pages on the site. Ssves a lot of work on the back end.
      2. City Lights is our busiest time of year for our web site and I really didn’t want to have people go to an old archaic site, that had lost functionality. Which I believed would make an even worse impression of Downtown.

      The whole site will be functioning still on December first. It’s only a 10 day difference. The site will include all residential listings and search functionality along with maps.

      Thanks-
      Kristy

  3. dfwcre8tive

    The new site looks great. One problem I can see:

    If I go to “Places to Go” and then to “Shop” it brings up the landing page for shopping. It only looks like there are 4 options. After exploring for some time I figured out that I need to click the small “Search” in the left column to view a full list of shops, or select from the type and district and then “search” before I can view any places to be able to rate them. It’s not very intuitive and some directions or eye catching note on the left column would help guide people to the next step. This problem repeats itself in every other section of the website.

Leave a Reply

